A retired immortal needs your help

... sit down, kick back and relax, and talk about anything that doesn't belong on one of the other forums.
bedryn

A retired immortal needs your help

Postby bedryn » Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:53 pm

Hey wotmud community! It's been a while, but I just wanted to reach out with an update on RL stuff I've been doing.

I'm a scientist, I graduated a few years ago with a PhD in molecular biology from UC San Diego. The past few years I've been trying to find an academic job in algae research, but none of the grants keep getting funded. I'm about fed up with relying on the federal government to fund science, so I started a non-profit organization called pubfund.science to try to crowdfund the research I'm doing. As part of the campaign, I'm reaching out to basically everyone I know and every community I've been a part of, because I need this to go viral if I've got any chance of success, which means I need as many likes, shares, and reposts as possible.

So, if you believe in the importance of public funding of science research, I need your help. In order of importance:
• If you can, please DONATE. Any amount helps, and all donations are tax-deductible to our 501(c)(3) organization!
• Like our Facebook page, and share some of our posts!
• Watch and share our Youtube video (which features me heavily).
• Sign up for our Newsletterif you want to receive email updates on the campaign and how it's going
• Follow us on Twitter, if you use it.
• You can check out our website at pubfund.science if you want to check out the background of the non-profit in more depth. Please let me know if you've got any questions! I'm always looking to expand our FAQ section.

Help me make science stronger by incentivizing more scientists to reach out and talk about the importance of their research. Support publicly funded science today!

alima

Re: A retired immortal needs your help

Postby alima » Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:57 pm

Cool, I'll do what I can :)

Ashlee